My own journey of online spiritual journaling

Every spiritual journaling blog records a season of your life. At the time of writing this blog, I have 3 spiritual journaling blogs. Two of them were completed.

I started online spiritual journaling on Easter Sunday, 8 April 2012. I remembered I was at a low point in my life when I built my first blog, Place it in his hands. This is what I wrote in the “About” page of the blog –

After reading John 6:8-13, which recorded the well-known miracle of the feeding of the 5000 by Jesus, I named this blog – Place it in his hands.

I am reminded that Jesus can use every possession, talent, or effort, regardless of how little it may be, and turn it into a miracle if I am going to place it in his hands. This blog is an encouragement to be faithful in small things (Luke 16:10) and see God turns them into greater things.

One of the small things is to spend time with God, through reading His word and prayers. I long to do this every morning, and be led by Him to do other activities during the rest of the day.

I am learning to be disciplined in other things also – like eating raw asparagus and blogging. I will like to share more of these things in this blog in the future.

At the end of this year, I want to evaluate my faithfulness in doing these things.

I had written and posted in this private blog for at least once a week, what I termed as a weekly update. Eventually, Place it in his hands concluded with 38 weekly updates and a total of 109 posts. I had also completed reading through the bible on the 28th of December 2012 after following a bible-in-one-year reading plan in that year.

I started the 39th weekly update in my next blog, Faithfulness to the next step, on January 6, 2013.

This is what I wrote in the “About” page of the blog –

Faithfulness to the next step is my spiritual journal to record my walk with God from 2013 to 2015. It is the continuation of my previous blog, Place it in his hands, which was written in 2012. It is creating my own history with God like what Pastor Bill Johnson has said.

Faithfulness to the next step concluded with a total of 492 blog posts, and contained weekly updates from Week 39 to Week 194.

Finally, from Week 195 onwards, I continue to post in my current blog, Loving Faithfulness.

This is what I wrote in the “About” page of the blog –

Loving Faithfulness is my third spiritual journal that is intended to record my journey as a disciple of Jesus from 2016 into a decade – Year 2025. A lot of focus of Loving Faithfulness will be on discipleship, prayer and thanksgiving.

After Place it in his hands and Faithfulness to the next step (total of about 4 years of spiritual journaling), I have become a loyal fan of blogging using WordPress when most people have switched to using another social media platform such as Instagram to express their thoughts and ideas. God has given me the grace to sustain through writing both of these blogs and in the process, I have fallen in love with blogging. I love writing and the satisfaction that I get from the activity itself rather than doing it for the cheer and approval from others.

I have decided that Loving Faithfulness will focus inwardly on prayers and spiritual reflections and outwardly on spiritual revelations to edify (using art to communicate). Preferably, I hope to blog two posts per week, though the minimum commitment for spiritual journaling I have already set at one blog post a week.

The theme color for Loving Faithfulness, which I did not intentionally choose, is green. Green symbolizes growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility. Green has strong emotional correspondence with safety. Dark green is also commonly associated with money. Green has great healing power. It is the most restful color for the human eye; it can improve vision. These are all the positives that I want for myself in the next 10 years.

I’ll end off this About page with a quote by Hudson Taylor, the famous missionary to China –

“A little thing is a little thing, but faithfulness in little things is a great thing.”

Most of the contents in this post are extracts from what I had written in the “About” pages in my spiritual journaling blogs. Writing a good “About” page is crucial in setting a direction and focus for your blog and for future references.

Now you have an idea of what spiritual journaling is about.

Before you start your own journey of spiritual journaling, you may want to read the next post – Traditional journaling versus Online journaling – Or you may go back to the page – Why online spiritual journaling? – to access to other contents.

2 thoughts on “My own journey of online spiritual journaling

Leave a Reply

